School Calendar

2016 - 2017

Term 1

Starts: Tuesday 6th September 2016

Ends: Friday 21st October 2016


Tuesday 6th September First Day of Term 1

Monday 3rd October - Harvest Festival

Thursday 6th October - Year R Photograph with Kent Messenger

Friday 14th October - Battle of Hastings Curriculum Day

Monday 17th October - Magistrates visiting Year 6

Tuesday 18th October - Year 6 John Lennon Workshop

Week beginning 17th October - Parent Consultations (letters have been issued)

Friday 21st October - Last day of Term 1

Term 2

Starts: Tuesday 1st November 2016

Ends: Wednesday 21st December 2016

Monday 31st October Staff Development Day


Tuesday 1st November First Day of Term 2

Wednesday 2nd November Year 5 Trip to Historic Dockyard

Mon – Fri 7th – 11th November Book Fair

Mon – Fri 14th – 18th November Anti Bullying Week

Friday 18th November Individual Pupil Photographs

Monday21st November Diwali Afternoon

21st – 25th November Road Safety Week

Thursday 24th November Year 2 Book Publishing Party

Friday 25th November Pandas Class Assembly 9:15am

Thursday 1st December Year 6 Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Wednesday 7th December School Choir Performing at Bluewater 11:00am

Friday 9th December Year R, Year 1 & Year 2 Christmas Production to School 9:30am

Friday 9th December Year 3 & Year 4 Christmas Production to School 2:00pm

Monday 12th December Year R, Year 1 & Year 2 Christmas Production to Parents 2:00pm

Monday 12th December Year 3 & Year 4 Christmas Production to Parents 9:30am

Tuesday 13th December Year R, Year 1 & Year 2 Christmas Production to Parents 9:30am

Tuesday 13th December Year 3 & Year 4 Christmas Production to Parents 2:00pm

Friday 16th December Save the Children’s Christmas Jumper Day

Friday 16th December Thank You Assembly for Helpers and Volunteers 9:15am

Friday 16th December Christmas Dinner

Monday 19th December Year 1 and Year 2 Christmas Parties

Tuesday 20th December Salvation Army Gift Service

Tuesday 20th December Year 5 & Year 6 Carol Service at St John the Baptist Church 2:00pm

Wednesday 21st December Last Day of Term 2

Term 3

Term Starts: Tuesday 3rd January 2017

Term Ends: Wednesday 8th February 2017


Tuesday 3rd January First Day of Term 3

Thursday 12th January Year 3 Food Miles Workshop

Friday 13th January Tigers Class Assembly 9:15am

Tuesday 17th January o2 Young Voices

Wednesday 18th January "Drive" - KS2 Road Safety Workshops

Monday 30th January Chinese New Year

Friday 3rd February Toucans Class Assembly  9:15am

Monday 6th February Year 3 Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Tuesday 7th February Safer Internet Day

Wednesday 8th February Last Day of Term 3

Thursday 9th February Staff Development Day

Friday 10th February Staff Development Day

Term 4

Term Starts: Monday 20th February 2017

Term Ends: Friday 31st March 2017


Monday 20th February First Day of Term 4

Wednesday 22nd February Year 5 Open Afternoon  2:30pm

Thursday 2nd March World Book Day – Dress up as a Book Character/Bring a prop from a book

Friday 3rd March Penguins Class Assembly 9:15am

Tuesday 7th March Parent's workshop with Educational Psychologist 2:00pm

Friday 10th March Hedgehogs Class Assembly 9:15am

Monday 13th March Year 4 Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Monday 13th March British Science Day

Wednesday 22nd March Eagle Heights presentation to Year 2 1:15pm

Thursday 23rdMarch Parent Consultations 4pm-730pm

Thursday 23rd March PTA Mother's Day Gift Shop

Friday 24th March Comic Relief

Thursday 30th March Swattenden (Year 4) Parents' Meeting 6:30pm

Friday 31st March Last Day of Term 4

Term 5

Term Starts: Wednesday 19th April 2017

Term Ends: Friday 26th May 2017

Staff Development Day: Tuesday 18th April


Wednesday 19th April First Day of Term 5

Thursday 20th April Year 3 Trip to Lullingstone Villa

Friday 21st April Non-uniform day - Chocolate tombola

Monday 24th April Year 5 Horton Kirby Educational Visit - All day (school hours)

Thursday 27th April Non-uniform day - Bottle tombola

Friday 28th April Lemurs Class Assembly 9:15am

Friday 28th April  Year 5/6 Movie Night

Monday 1st May May Fayre (Bank Holiday)

Tue – Fri 2nd – 5th May Year 4 Residential Visit to Swattenden

Monday 8th - Thursday 11th May Year 6 Standard Attainment Tests (SATS) Week

Friday 12th May Elephants Class Assembly 9:15am

Friday 12th May Year 3/4 Movie Night

Monday 15th-Friday 19th May - Walk to School Week

Wednesday 17th- May - Funky Shoe Day

Thursday 18th May Hindhead (Year 6) Parents' Meeting 6:30pm

Friday 19th May Owls Class Assembly 9:15am

Thursday 25th May Year 5 PESE Meeting 6:30pm

Friday 26th May Last Day of Term 5

Term 6

Term Starts: Monday 5th June 2017

Term Ends: Friday 21st July 2017


Monday 5th June First Day of Term 6

Thursday 8th June Father's Day gift shop

Friday 9th June Year R Class Assembly 9:15am

Friday 9th June Whole School Art Exhibition - Main Hall 3:30pm

Tuesday 13th June Year 4 - Walk to Meopham Green 9:30-12:30pm

Mon-Fri 12th – 16th June Year 6 Residential Visit to Marchants Hill

Friday 16th June Year R Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Tuesday 20th June Operation Brakes 9am-12pm

Wednesday 21st June Sports Day - **CANCELLED** Rescheduled for Monday 10th July

Friday 23rd June Flamingoes Class Assembly 9:15am

Friday 23rd June KS1 Movie Night 3:30pm

Monday 26th June - Thursday 29th June Book Fair School Hall 3:30-4pm

Monday 26th June - Year 5 visit to Meopham Secondary School (am)

Wednesday 28th June Year 1 Trip to Kent Life

Thursday 29th June Year 2 Trip to Joss Bay

Friday 30th June Meopham’s Got Talent

Monday 3rd July Year 1 Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Monday 3rd July Children and parents informed of new class teacher

Wednesday 5th July Whole class swap afternoon

Friday 7th July Oryx Class Assembly 9:15am

Friday 7th July School Reports to Parents

Monday 10th July Sports Day

Wednesday 12th July Year 2 Open Afternoon 2:30pm

Wednesday 12th July Year 5 Local area walk (pm)

Tuesday 18th July Opportunity to Discuss School Reports with Teachers

Wednesday 19th July Year 6 Production 6:30pm

Wednesday 19thJuly Thank You Assembly 9:30am

Thursday 20th July Year 6 Leaver’s Service 9:15am

Thursday 20th July Year 6 Leaver’s BBQ 5:30-6:30pm

Thursday 20th July Year 5/6 Disco 6:30-8:30pm

Friday 21st July Last Day of Term 6